Coast Development Authority (CDA) is one of the six Regional Development Authorities under the Ministry of Planning and Devolution. CDA was established by an Act of Parliament to provide integrated development planning, coordination and implementation of projects and programmes within its area of jurisdiction which covers six Counties (Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Tana River, Taita Taveta & Lamu), Southern part of Garissa County and the Exclusive economic Zone.

The Coast region is well endowed with  natural resources that include the ocean, rivers, springs (fresh and hot water), lakes, deltas, water catchments, hills and rangelands, marine resources (fisheries, corals), tree crops (cashewnuts, coconuts, mangoes, bixa), forestry (mangroves), minerals (gemstones), wildlife (hirola, butterflies,  etc), diverse cultures, Kayas, monuments and history. Despite this rich natural resource endowment, high levels of absolute poverty (62%), food deficit (70%), unemployment, poor infrastructure, environmental degradation (2% forest cover), gender inequality and high prevalence rate of HIV/AIDS continue to prevail.



To be the best Authority globally in implementing integrated development by 2030


To spur socio-economic development, promote value addition and environmental sustainability and standard living.


Core Values

  • Accountability
  • Transparency
  • Integrity
  • Honesty,
  • Professionalism,
  • Dignity,
  • Efficiency
  • Effectiveness.